Tuesday, March 16, 2010

Story of Stuff - now the audiobook! (and there's a giveaway)

Who doesn't know the Story of Stuff? More than 10 million people have seen so far this
20-minute animation of the consumerist society, narrated by Annie Leonard. But there's more!

Yes, Annie Leonard just released a new audiobook under the same name (or in it's full name:
The Story of Stuff: How Our Obsession with Stuff is Trashing the Planet, Our Communities, and Our Health- and a Vision for Change) and it's as eye-opening and mind-bothering as the film.

This new audiobook is documenting the journey. The journey of stuff. Unlike the journey of Jeff Garlin in 'My Footprint', this journey is not funny. Sometimes it's even sad when you understand what we're doing to ourselves and the planet we're living on. But the fact that the truth hurts is no excuse to avoid it and listening to Annie Leonard, revealing the facts about the way we produce, consume and through away stuff is a good way to start facing reality and of course changing it.

It wasn't easy sometimes to listen to the Story of Stuff. When you see it animated in the film, the animation helps you cope with the facts, but without the animation all you're left with is just the facts. Still, Annie Leonard makes a good job in keeping the story interesting, especially by combining her fascinating stories from her own experiences around the globe, which helps you to identify with her and better understand the issues she is talking about.

If you thought the film was interesting, I believe you will find this audiobook as interesting if not more. It's definitely a part of the journey of stuff you don't want to miss.

Here's a description of the new audiobook (from the publisher's website):

We have a problem with Stuff. With just 5 percent of the world’s population, we’re consuming 30 percent of the world’s resources and creating 30 percent of the world’s waste. If everyone consumed at U.S. rates, we would need three to five planets! This alarming fact drove Annie Leonard to create the Internet film sensation The Story of Stuff, which has been viewed over 10 million times. Now, in a landmark book in the tradition of Rachel Carson’s Silent Spring, Leonard tracks the life of the Stuff we use every day—how it is produced, distributed, and consumed, and where it goes when we throw it out.

Leonard’s message is startlingly clear: we have too much Stuff, and too much of it is toxic. Outlining the five stages of our consumption-driven economy—from extraction through production, distribution, consumption, and disposal—she vividly illuminates its frightening repercussions. Leonard reveals the true story behind our possessions, and how we, as consumers, are compromising our health, safety, and quality of life. Meanwhile, all this Stuff isn’t even making us happier!

The drive for a “growth at all costs” economy fuels a system in crisis, but Annie Leonard shows us that this is not the way things have to be. Expansive, galvanizing, and sobering yet optimistic, The Story of Stuff transforms how we think about our lives and our relationship to the planet.

Hear an excerpt from the audiobook:

And don't miss Annie Leonard's hilarious talk with Stephen Colbert:

The Colbert ReportMon - Thurs 11:30pm / 10:30c
Annie Leonard
Colbert Report Full EpisodesPolitical HumorHealth Care reform

Disclosure: We received a copy of this audiobook from the publisher (Simon and Simon Audio).


We're giving away a copy of this audiobook, courtesy of the publisher, Simon & Simon audio!

How you can win? Very simple. All you have to do is to retweet this post on twitter with the hashtag #storyofstuff at the end of your tweet. We will have a raffle on Friday, March 19, 5:00PM EST between all the readers that will retweet by then. The winner will be announced the following day.

Raz @ Eco-Libris

Eco-Libris: Promoting sustainable reading!